Buttercream or Fondant!!!

 

Hi everyone!

In this Blog I’ll be talking a little bit about Buttercream and Fondant and why I prefer to make cakes one way or the other. I love baking and trying new designs ether  with fondant or buttercream. I wish I could make one cake a week but that would mean tons of cake for me to eat. At the beginning I preferred to decorate my cakes with fondant.  It was easier for me to just roll out some fondant and cover the cake and take some colored fondant and complete my decoration.   Now I also love to work with buttercream. The truth is that you can make beautiful cakes with both technique.  What it’s important is to ask the person you making the cake for or yourself what they prefer. Not everyone likes fondant.

When working with fondant you have to make sure you are in a good environment to work with it.  Temperature and humidity  can affect the texture and the elasticity of the fondant.  If you have a fondant that doesn’t want to roll easy jut add a bit of shortening and it will help it roll easier.  If the problem is that is too soft just add a bit of powder sugar and it will be ready to roll. Now if you want to color the fondant is better to use gel food colors this way it won’t affect the consistency of the fondant. Normally I will buy the fondant ready to use. I buy Wilton or Satin Ice, this one is my favorite it taste supper good.

Buttercream is a most. Even if you’re using fondant to cover the cake you will need a bit of buttercream to seal the cake.  You can use other techniques but the easiest  is this one.  I love buttercream because you can add different flavor and colors. With this you can make beautiful decorations in your cakes.  Usually the medium consistency is the best to work with the cakes. Remember to only fill your piping bags half way, this way it won’t be so difficult to pipe.  With hard consistency you can make others decorations to put on your cake.  Here’s an easy Buttercream recipe:  Ingredients: 3 cups powdered sugar, 1/3 cup butter or margarine (softened), 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla, 1 to 2 tablespoons milk. Directions:  In medium bowl, mix powdered sugar and butter with spoon or electric mixer on low-speed. Stir in vanilla and 1 tablespoon of the milk. Gradually beat in just enough remaining milk to make frosting smooth and spreadable. If frosting is too thick, beat in more milk, a few drops at a time. If frosting becomes too thin, beat in a small amount of powdered sugar. (Thanks, Betty Crocker).

Hope you have fun making beautiful cakes like I do!!!!!!

Gladinell

Leave a Reply

